Yet ANOTHER chicken recipe

What? I like chicken, okay? I told you I like chicken. I’m practically going to turn in to a chicken. Let’s face it, I’m already covered in a fine fuzz and I’m prone to acting like a mother hen. Let’s not even mention my pale flesh. Yep. I’m a chicken for shizzle.

Tonight I made a lovely chicken cacciatore. I was a bit too ambitious with the chilli though! Eek.

At just under 300 calories a serve though I can’t complain.

4 x chicken breasts (125g each), each cut into 3 pieces
1 tbs canola oil
1 x red onion, halved and sliced
1 x green capsicum, cut into long strips
2 x celery stalks, cut into 1cm dice
2 x medium carrots, cut into 1/2cm slices
2 x large garlic cloves, finely chopped
1/4 cup of dry white wine (I used chicken stock)
400g chopped tinned tomatoes
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/4tsp of chilli flakes

Season chicken with freshly ground black pepper. Heat the oil in a non-stick pan over moderately high heat. Add the chicken and sauté until browned on both sides. Remove from pan and set aside.

Add onion, capsicum, celery and carrots to the pan and cook over moderate heat until vegetables are soft, about 10 minutes, stirring frequently. Stir in garlic and cook for a further 2 minutes.

Add wine, scraping browned bits from the bottom. Add tomatoes, lemon juice and chilli flakes and bring to a simmer.

Return chicken to the pan, cover with crumpled wet baking paper and simmer over low heat until chicken is cooked through, about 15 minutes.

Dish up and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

