Let’s talk about food, baby!

I get asked a lot what my general diet is like so I thought I would write a little post about it for your blog reading pleasure.

Now, I’m not a doctor (although if googling was a university subject, I’d have a PHD) and I’m not a nutritionist but I do know a lot about food and what’s good for you.  I read a lot about healthy eating and and try to follow a well balanced and low GI diet.

A typical day looks something like this –

BREAKFAST

I have porridge most days with lite milk and a banana.

On Thursdays when I have soccer and boxing I’ll have something more substantial like and a boiled egg, some low fat ricotta, tomato, avocado and a piece of multigrain or peanut butter on multigrain with banana.

It’s important to remember that you need to fuel your body in order for it to burn fat.  Having a nutrionally balanced breakfast is the key to starting the day right.

MORNING TEA

Cup of tea (I’m not usually hungry at this time as the foods I eat for breakfast keep me fuller for longer so a cup of tea usually is enough).

LUNCH

Today I had a tin of soup and a small brown roll (I don’t usually like to go for tinned food as they have a lot of sodium but I’m a little on the broke side this week so… tin soup it is.

Other options are:

Salad with tuna and four bean mix with balsamic vinegar and drizzle of olive oil

Rice paper rolls (I am so totally obsessed with these at the moment!)

Beetroot, pumpkin, feta (small amount!), walnut and spinach salad with balsamic vinegar and drizzle of olive oil

Homemade chicken, vegetable and noodle soup

AFTERNOON TEA

Low GI piece of fruit and a cup of herbal tea

DINNER

Always includes about 150g of protein, ¼ plate low GI carbs and half a plate of low GI vegetables or salad

For example – last night I had steak with risoni (a small rice shaped pasta).  In the risoni I mixed in plenty of baby spinach, shallots, lemon rind, lemon juice and olive oil.  Tonight I have a small bowl of chicken and vegetable noodle soup (with small pieces of angel hair pasta).

I believe portion control is key.  I make sure I am not eating too much  (or too little for that matter!) and I stick to natural and fresh foods.   I steer clear of most pre-packaged, pre-prepared foods and limit my sugar (fake and real) intake.

Good fats  play an important role in weight loss.  They can can help your metabolism run efficiently and by consuming adequate amounts, you can actually assist in weight loss. I choose unsaturated fats like olive oil, olives (6 – 8 is enough), nuts (walnuts are great – 20g max) and avocado.

I choose only lean cuts of meat and trim visible fat where necessary and I eat lots of vegetables.

So that all sounds pretty easy, right?  Basically, fresh and natural foods are in and saturated, trans fats and sugar is out. In other words – I cut out the crap.

That doesn’t mean I won’t treat myself occasionally!  But it’s all within limits and only in moderation.

I hope this has been useful to any that were interested but it’s also important that you need to find something that works for YOU.  Experiment with your diet and remember to stay active.  But most of all, don’t think of eating healthy as a chore, just think of it as just something that you do because whatever you put into your body, you will get out of it.

Leave a Reply

